• The Venue for Workshops & Conference has been updated.

Local Organization

The IE13 conference is organized by the National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) and the Hellenic Open University (HOU).

National Technical University of Athens - NTUA (

The National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) has been founded in 1836, only a few years after Greece became an independent state. It is the oldest and most prestigious educational institution of Greece in the field of technology, and has contributed unceasingly to the country's scientific, technical and economic development, and social progress.

NTUA is divided into nine academic Schools, eight being for the engineering sciences (Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Architecture, Chemical Engineering, Rural and Surveying Engineering, Mining Engineering and Metallurgy, Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering), and one for Applied Mathematical and Physical Science. The 9 faculties comprise 33 Departments. The total number of NTUA employees is about 1350 (including more than 700 academic staff, 140 scientific assistants and 260 administrative and technical staff). The total number of undergraduate students is about 8500 and the graduate students 1500.

The scientific staff in the Schools, together with post-graduate researchers, apart from their teaching and related educational activities, conduct research work assisted by post-graduate students and a considerable number of external collaborators; the amount and the high standards of this research are proved by the numerous publications in International Scientific Journals and Proceedings of International Conferences as well as by the prominent place of NTUA among all Europeans Universities, due to the increasing number of research projects financed by the EU and other Greek and foreign organizations of the public and the private sector.

Most NTUA schools are located in the Zografou Campus (9 Iroon Politechneiou str, 15780 Zografou). The School of Architecture is based on the Patission Complex, the historical buildings of NTUA original location, in the centre of Athens (42 Patission str., 10682, Athens), where IE13 will be hosted. For more information, visit NTUA web site (, or call +30-210-7721000.



Hellenic Open University - HOU (

HOU was founded in 1992 as the 19th Greek State University. It is the sole Higher Education Institution in Greece that provides adult distance education in both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. To achieve this, HOU it develops and implements appropriate learning material and methods of teaching.

HOU comprises four Schools (Science and Technology, Social Science, Humanities, Applied Arts), which offer in total 31 programmes of study (6 undergraduate and 25 graduate). The total number of active students is 26400 (14700 undergraduate and 11700 postgraduate), while more than 21000 students have already graduated at least one programme of study. The total number of employees is about 1600 (including 41 members of staff, more than 1300 external tutors and more than 200 administrative personnel).

In addition to the above, HOU includes three independent units: the Educational Content, Methodology and Technology (e-CoMeT) Lab (, the Internal Evaluation Unit and the Quality Assurance Unit. The Laboratory supports HOU in applying educational, methodological and technological innovation in distance learning and educational content development. Research and development in e-CoMeT Lab takes places around three axes: Production of and quality assurance of educational content, Design and application of novel distance learning methodologies, and Development of educational services using ICT. The Laboratory participates in numerous Greek and EU funded R&D projects.

HOU headquarters are located in the Perivola Campus in Patras (18 Par. Aristotelous str., 26335 Patras). The University leases six more buildings in the city of Patras. HOU maintains branches in all Greek major cities. For more information visit HOU web site ( or call +30-2610-367300.

HOU PatrasHOU Athens